Party Time! Confetti Cupcakes

My husband is a special guy.  He’s a wonderful father to our two kiddos, a great husband to me, and an all-around stellar man. Last weekend he turned the big  3-0 so I threw him a party to celebrate.  I knew I would be making cupcakes simply because I think they are easier to serve to large groups of people.  But I didn’t know what kind.  I thought, and thought, and thought some more.  Then I remembered that his fave cake flavor as kid was confetti- you know, vanilla cake with sprinkles spattering the batter.  With those little pops of color, who wouldn’t like confetti cupcakes?  So I started searching for a recipe.  There’s a few out there, but I settled on one that I thought sounded good.

Then my lovely husband put a wrench in things.  He told me he wanted a strawberry cake for his birthday (he had no clue about the birthday party at this point).  “Hmmm you don’t want a confetti cake?” I asked.  Being my appeasing husband, he decided to give me creative liberty to decide.  Well, I decided to do both!

The confetti and strawberry cupcakes turned out so great!  I was especially nervous about the confetti ones because I have yet to find a yellow cupcake that is moist enough, but they were moist and buttery.  I will definitely be making these again!

Here’s the recipe for confetti cupcakes (I’ll be doing a post about the strawberry ones in a few days.  Those babies deserve their own post!):

Funfetti Cupcakes
Recipe adapted from Cupcakes by Shelly Kaldunski

Makes about 12 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For funfetti cupcakes
1-1/4 cups AP flour
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
6 tbsp butter, room temperature
1 large egg + 1 egg white, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
1 jar of rainbow sprinkles

For vanilla buttercream
2 sticks butter
4 cups powdered sugar, sifted
2 tbsp milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

INSTRUCTIONS

To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 350F.

Line cupcake pan with paper liners.

In a large bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a stand mixer, fitted with flat beater, beat the sugar and butter until well combined, about 2-3 minutes. Add egg and egg white, one at a time, beating on low.

Then add vanilla. Gradually add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with milk in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture. Fold in rainbow sprinkles.

Fill cupcake liners about 1/2-2/3 full. Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire cooling rack before frosting.


One response to “Party Time! Confetti Cupcakes

  1. Not only were they very good (I ate one of both), the display was very pleasing to the eye!!

Leave a Reply

