Happy Birthday to Me!

Yes, that’s right, today is MY birthday!  The one special day when I can eat as much cake as I want and not feel guilty.  And let me tell you, I did.

I’ve always loved birthdays.  When I was a little girl, the anticipation before my birthday was almost too much. Birthdays (besides Christmas) were so magical.  Birthday signs, streamers and balloons.  Family, presents and lots of pictures.  And best of all- birthday cake.  My mom has always made our birthday cakes with my fave being yellow butter cake with chocolate frosting.  Mmmmmm yummy!  Seeing as this is my first blog post, I figure it’s fitting that it happens to fall on my birthday.  A day that’s always been filled with family, friends, love and cake.

This year my mom swayed from tradition and made yummy red velvet cupcakes.  She even delivered them to my doorstep this morning on a silver platter (literally, they were on a silver platter.  I’m going to hope she forgets about the platter because it’s really, really cute).  The cupcakes were tasty- moist and sweet.  She topped them with a nice vanilla frosting and coconut flakes.  Good job, mom!

As I said earlier, I eat a lot of cake on my birthday.  Who am I kidding?  I eat a lot of cake and sweets on most days of the week, but especially on my birthday. And today was no exception.  My hubby and I went to lunch to celebrate the day and the restaurant just happened to be next door to one of the best bakeries in town (I promise I didn’t plan it, wink wink).  So after we dined on some mighty good burgers, we moseyed on over to that wonderful bakery.  And I got my fave cake combo- a yellow cupcake with chocolate frosting.  It even came with sprinkles.  Then this afternoon, I had a slice of a reine de saba cake I made over the weekend.  A big slice at that.  Needless to say, I’m all caked out for this year’s birthday.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Oh, how sweet it is…

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. All I can say is “Eat Cake”!! XOXO!!

  2. Hi Samanatha….This is grandma. Mom showed me your blog. It is absolutely charming and wonderful. You are a wonderful storyteller. Love you much.

Leave a Reply

